Skip to main content

2023 Des Moines Challenge Competition Update

By Charles McCracken
0 Comments

 

For Immediate Release: 

2023 Des Moines Challenge Competition Update

June 24, 2023: After lengthy delays and continued monitoring of weather patterns on the ground at the Trubank Des Moines Challenge presented by Discraft, the DGPT suspended play on Saturday in accordance with its weather policies. 

Play was underway for the FPO field while most MPO competitors had yet to begin. Storms are expected to continue to roll through the area for the remainder of the day, and the course area is under a tornado watch until 7:00 PM CT. Based on this suspension, the DGPT has made the following adjustments to the competition schedule for Sunday in accordance with PDGA rules. 

FPO

The FPO division will resume competition from their previous lies on Sunday morning (June 25) at 6:32 AM CT and complete round two. Then, the FPO field will immediately play a third and final round with no cut after cards are shuffled based on scores. 

MPO

For the MPO division, the tournament has been shortened to two rounds. As soon as the final round FPO lead card completes hole six, MPO play will resume. MPO competitors who had already begun round two will resume play from their previous lie. The event will conclude for the MPO division after the completion of 36 holes.

Updated tee times for both divisions will be available shortly. 

Adjusted Disc Golf Network Live Broadcast Times

Remainder of FPO Round 2 

4:30 AM PT | 6:30 AM CST | 7:30 AM EST 

FPO Round 3 

8:00 AM PST | 10:00 AM CST | 11:00 AM EST

Remainder of MPO Round 2

2:00 PM PST | 4:00 PM CST | 5:00 PM EST

 

###

 

For media inquiries, please contact DGPT Communications Director Charles McCracken at charles@dgpt.com