Skip to main content

DGPT 2017 Championship: New Champions Are Crowned

The year has come to a close in exciting fashion here at the Disc Golf Pro Tour. After nine events and a championship we now have two new Pro Tour Champions in their two
respective divisions: FPO and MPO. The Pro Tour Championship featured four days of stiff competition which culminated in the crowning of our two champions.
FPO Division
In the FPO division we saw all three of the women who qualified for a semifinals bye (meaning they played one round) and one wildcard advance to the finals. This created a final round which included Paige Pierce, Sarah Hokom, Catrina Allen, and Lisa Fajkus. Outside of the champion, the story of the day was Lisa Fajkus who earned a bye to the quarterfinals and played her way into the championship. Lisa fought the course all day in an attempt to claim the champion title but ultimately finished tied with Catrina Allen after a few late bogeys.
At the end of the day however, Paige Pierce continued her dominance by setting a lead early and not looking back. Paige landed the ONLY eagle of the championship on Sunday when she landed her three on the par five hole 9 from just outside the circle. Paige cruised to victory with a 6 throw lead in order to be crowned both the 2017 Pro Tour Champion and the 2017 Pro Tour Points Champion. Congrats Paige!
MPO Division
The MPO division featured five players in the finals. This included four players who had qualified for a bye to semifinals – Ricky Wysocki, Paul McBeth, Simon Lizotte (having only played one round) and Dana Vicich (having played three rounds). Dana was the story of the weekend, coming in ranked 45th in Tour Point Standings Dana was able to shoot hot rounds on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday in order to make the finals. However, when Dana made it to the stage he was unable to capitalize. James Conrad started off hot, leading the field thru hole 4, then Paul McBeth caught up to him. Then Ricky caught up and by 7 it looked like we had a three way race for the finals. On holes 8 and 9 Paul McBeth carded back to back double bogeys. This effectively ended McBeth’s race for first, given how hot Ricky and James were playing. On hole 9 James regained the lead, then promptly lost the lead on hole 10. On hole 12 Ricky carded a bogey, his only blemish on the round and things began to shift again. Paul McBeth started a birdie run that would last until hole 18 and James started to struggle. We watched as James began to move further down the leaderboard and Paul began to surge to the top. At this time Simon reminded us he was still on the card, but it was too little too late. By the time we reached hole 18 Simon would need an eagle to tie Ricky and he was unable to pull off the feat. All Paul needed to do to tie Ricky was to card a par. Instead he carded a double bogey.
A season which was a clear battle between Paul McBeth and Ricky Wysocki for the #1 and #2 spots ended with Ricky Wysocki on top. Ricky finished the season the 2017 Pro Tour Points Champion and the 2017 Pro Tour Champion.
It was a phenomenal end to a phenomenal season. We look forward to gathering some rest in the offseason and starting again fresh in 2018 at the Memorial. Thank you for your support this season. Without you this would not be possible. From the bottom of our hearts, to both the players and the fans, thank you for your support in growing the sport of disc golf.