Skip to main content

DGPT Rides On at Texas States

By Charles McCracken

Ricky Wysocki won the 2021 Texas States crown, but a new course awaits the field in 2022. Photo: DGPT

Lindsey Park in Tyler, Texas is home to three courses that have hosted PDGA-sanctioned tournaments for decades.

Beginning Friday, the best of the best of the Lindsey Park complex will test the best of the best in disc golf as PDGA Elite Series action resumes at the Disc Golf Pro Tour – Texas State Disc Golf Championships presented by Latitude 64.


Valerie Mandujano won the 2020 Texas State Championship, when it was an A-Tier in Tyler. Photo: DGPT

This year, for the 27th running of Texas States, players will take on ‘The Thorn,’ a hybrid layout designed by the Rose City Disc Club and 2018 PDGA World Champion Gregg Barsby, who now calls East Texas home.

As a part of the 2021 PDGA National Tour, the 26th annual event was held solely on the Dogwood track at Lindsey Park, a highly wooded and technical test.

The new layout features several holes from Dogwood, but also encompasses both regular and modified holes from the Hickory and Cedar courses as well for nearly 10,000 feet of play. The MPO layout checks in at 9,772 feet (Par 63) while the FPO field will tackle an 8,986-foot, Par 67 version.


Holly Finley finished second in Tyler in 2021. Photo: PDGA Media

Every shot will be utilized over the three-round event. While 11 holes check in at over 450 feet for the MPO field, distance throwers will only have a slight advantage as trouble looms large with trees and tight OB throughout the course. Then there is the Dogwood run, which sends players back into the piney woods for four holes. Elevation and the Texas winds will play a major factor as well.

Ricky Wysocki is the defending Texas State champion after taking the NT win a year ago. It was the fifth win for Wysocki at Texas States, which rotates throughout the state on a two-year basis (extended to three years in Tyler due to COVID-19). It was also the latest win for Wysocki in the Lone Star State, a place where he has dominated with 12 wins in 25 career events, including a 5-for-5 mark at the Texas State Championship events dating back to 2013.

Hailey King, the 2021 FPO winner, withdrew from the event due to travel issues related to storms that swept through the south earlier this week.

It’s time for a new course and another Lone Star showdown.

Here’s everything else you need to know to catch the action this weekend:

Tee Time & Round Ratings

PDGA | Visit Site

Official scores, tee times, live scoring and round ratings can be found at the official event page on

Live Video Coverage


Disc Golf Network | Subscribe

The Disc Golf Network (DGN) is the home of live disc golf. Built by the Disc Golf Pro Tour, the DGN is a subscription streaming and on-demand platform much like Netflix or Disney+. Covering the world’s best players competing in the sport’s most elite tournaments, a subscription includes post-produced coverage of select disc golf tournaments as well as exclusive disc golf shows, touring pro interview series, podcasts, and other segments only available on the Disc Golf Network.

Active PDGA members receive a 50% discount on their Disc Golf Network subscription, a $60 value 

Friday’s FPO Feature Card (Live coverage of FPO begins at 9:30 a.m. CT / 10:30 a.m. ET)

  • Holly Finley
  • Valerie Mandujano
  • Maria Oliva
  • Catrina Allen

Friday’s FPO2 Live Card

  • Rebecca Cox
  • Kristin Tattar
  • Jessica Weese
  • Paige Pierce

Friday’s FPO3 Live Card

  • Holyn Handley
  • Kat Mertsch
  • Kona Star Panis
  • Erika Stinchcomb

Friday’s MPO Feature Card (Live coverage of MPO begins at 3:30 p.m. CT / 4:30 p.m. ET)

  • Ricky Wysocki
  • Chris Clemons
  • Luke Humphries
  • Niklas Antilla

Friday’s MPO2 Live Card

  • Gregg Barsby
  • Vaino Makela
  • Bradley Williams
  • Thomas Gilbert

DGPT YouTube | Subscribe

In addition to the DGN, the live broadcast for both divisions will be simulcast free on the DGPT YouTube channel for the final round only on Sunday, March 13.

DGN Press Conference | Watch

Hear from some of the players before the action gets going during a press conference from 2-4:30 p.m. CST on Thursday, live on the DGPT’s YouTube channel. Here is the tentative schedule for the press conference (all times CST):

  • 2:00 p.m.: Steven Storrie
  • 2:10 p.m.: Ricky Wysocki
  • 2:20 p.m.: Holly Finley
  • 2:30 p.m.: Paul McBeth
  • 2:40 p.m.: Valeria Mandujano
  • 2:50 p.m.: Luke Humphries
  • 3:00 p.m.: Kristin Tattar
  • 3:10 p.m.: Gregg Barsby
  • 3:20 p.m.: Catrina Allen
  • 3:30 p.m.: Vaino Makela
  • 3:40 p.m.: Paige Pierce
  • 3:50 p.m.: Niklas Antilla
  • 4:00 p.m.: Kat Mertsch
  • 4:10 p.m.: Matt Orum
  • 4:20 p.m.: Jay and Des Reading
  • 4:30 p.m.: Chris Dickerson

Post Production Video Coverage

JomezPro | Subscribe

Open Lead Card / Round 1 MPO Feature Card

  • Matt Orum
  • Linus Carllson
  • Jeremy Koling
  • Paul McBeth

GK Pro | Subscribe

Open Women’s Lead Card / Round 1 FPO Feature Card

  • Holly Finley
  • Valerie Mandujano
  • Maria Oliva
  • Catrina Allen

Gatekeeper Media | Subscribe

Open Chase Card / Round 1 MPO Feature Card

  • Albert Tamm
  • Connor O’Reilly
  • Kevin Jones
  • Mason Ford


Check back to daily for a recap of all of the action from the 2021 Elite Series.

PDGA & DGPT Social Media


Disc Golf Pro Tour

Wednesday, March 23, 2022 – 16:44