Skip to main content

Dickerson Surges for Second Major Title

By Baker Helton

It was the toughest field in disc golf history, and Chris Dickerson closed it out.

Set to be a thrilling battle from the start, Dickerson closed out strong to grab his second career PDGA Major title with a photo finish at the inaugural PDGA Champions Cup presented by Bushnell on Sunday in Appling, Georgia.

“Surprisingly, I only had a few nerves on the last two or three holes,” Dickerson told Terry Miller of the Disc Golf Network. “I just told myself one shot at a time and to worry about your shot and not what anyone else was doing.

“Just worry about what you’re doing and do the best you can.”

Follow Coverage of the PDGA Champions Cup presented by Bushnell »


Chris Dickerson went 100% from C1X during Sunday’s final round. Photo: Conrad Meyer / PDGA

The leaderboard was tight throughout the four-round tournament on W.R. Jackson at the International Disc Golf Center and Championship Sunday was set up to deliver a thrilling finish.

Ricky Wysocki entered the final 18 up one stroke over Calvin Heimburg and two strokes over Dickerson. The trio delivered that anticipated thrilling finish.

But it was Dickerson, who took the outright lead on hole 15, that put his stamp on this debut event and the first PDGA Pro Major of 2022.

After a slow start, Dickerson, with a 100% mark in C1X putting, birdied the final five holes. Wysocki, who had just one bogey through the first 54 holes, carded two in the final round and Heimburg had back-to-back bogies on the front nine to open the door.

Dickerson scrambled 100% in the final round in four attempts in a bogey-free round to finish 39-under for the tournament. For the tournament, Dickerson was first in circle 1 and circle 2 in regulation and second in strokes gained tee-to-green at 18.8, according to UDisc.

Wysocki finished two strokes back and Heimburg rounded out the podium at 36-under par. Corey Ellis finish fourth place and there was a five-way tie for fifth, including Gannon Buhr, Emerson Keith, Matthew Orum and Gavin Babcock.

Paul McBeth set the course record at W.R. Jackson with a scorching 16-under 52 to jump 20 spots up the leaderboard.