Skip to main content

Weather Shortens Nick Hyde Memorial powered by Innova and Hyzerbomb

Mother nature stepped in to cause two rain delays on the morning of the final day. A one hour delay from nine to ten followed by another 90 minutes delay about an
hour later. After the first delay, a cut was instituted in the MPO division to allow the players who had an opportunity to cash to play the third round. With 48 players cashing, it was decided that 72 players should make the cut.
After the second delay, the course, which is prone to mud, was covered in standing water. At this point Tournament Director Matt Siri, with the agreement of Tour Director Steve Dodge called the event. It was determined that, rather than risk the safety of all competitors while also cutting another 36 MPO players, the event would be better served to be cancelled at that point with the results after the second round being the determining factor.
Based on those results, Paul McBeth is the champion on the men’s side and Sarah Hokom and Catrina Allen are the champions on the women’s side. It may be an interesting footnote in the history of the Pro Tour that we have a tie for first. Let’s hope it never happens again.
A huge shout out of thanks to the amazing staff and players that braved the weather to try to make a go of the final round. We are all thankful that no one was injured. We leave Texas, headed for Jonesboro, a little wet and weary, but with a great story to tell.